Company Profile

AP Power Sector Reforms envisage creation of Distribution Companies as Government Undertakings. The Andhra Pradesh Gazette No.37 published by the Government of Andhra Pradesh on Friday the 31st of March 2000 declared formally formation of Distribution Companies. In this process, Andhra Pradesh Southern Power Distribution Company was formed for the following six districts of Andhra Pradesh. The Corporate Office and Headquarters of APSPDCL is atTirupati City

Quality power at economic rates acts a catalyst in transforming the state by fostering growth in agricultural, industrial and commercial areas while meeting the increasing domestic demand. On Feb 1, 1999, Government of Andhra Pradesh initiated the first phase of reforms and restructuring in AP's power sector by unbundling APSEB into APGENCO and APTRANSCO to cater to Generation and Transmission & Distribution respectively. APTRANSCO was further reorganized into four distribution companies to cater to the needs to the different districts of AP.

APSPDCL was formed in April 1, 2000 to serve Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore, Chittoor and Kadapa districts with a vision to become an efficient utility supplying reliable and quality power, promoting economic development and being self-reliant commercially.

After the bifurcation of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh into the two new states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana on 2nd June-2014, two more districts Anantapur and Kurnool were added to the Southern Power Distribution Company of AP Ltd.

SPDCL DISCOM Details up to 30-11-2019

S.No. Details
1 Area in Sq.KM 160205
2 No. of Domestic Services 9526809
3 No. of Non Domestic & Commercial Services 1016259
4 No. of LT Industrial Services 75390
5 No. of Cottage Industries and Dhobighats Services 17145
6 No. of Agricultural Services 1491442
7 No. of P W S & Street Light Services 119695
8 No. of General Purpose Services 83522
9 No. of Aqua & Animal Husbandry & others Services 56163
10 No. of Temporary Services 503
11 No. of LT Services 12386928
12 No. of HT Services 7222
13 No. of 33/11 KV Substations 2254
14 No. of Distribution Transformers 775798
15 No. of 11 KV Feeders 8608
16 No. Divisions 48
17 No. of Sub-Divisions 171
18 No. of Sections 649
19 No. of ERO's / Sub-ERO's 133

To View the CRDA Profile. Clickhere